PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION IN ITS ENTIRETY **ONLINE APPLICATION AVAILABLE**

Marriage Licenses

Fees

The cost to apply for a marriage license is: \$78.00 cash, check, money order and debit or credit card (a 4.5% surcharge will apply)

Fee With Premarital Counseling

\$38.00 cash, check, money order and debit or credit card (a 4.5% surcharge will apply)

If applicants have had **6 or more hours** of marriage counseling by a certified marriage counselor OR a pastor they must have form completed and **notarized**. (See link for certification of completion of qualifying premarital education)

The above fees include a certified copy of both your marriage certificate and application you will need after your marriage for social security and other purposes. They will be mailed to you after we receive your marriage license back from the officiant.

Application Information and Requirements

In order to apply for a marriage license in Georgia you must by 18 years of age except in special circumstances. (If 17 see link for 17 year old marriage information)

Blood Tests are no longer required to get a marriage license in Georgia.

Both parties must be present to obtain the license. Each person must also provide proper identification. Acceptable forms of identification include a drivers license, a state issued ID card, a passport, an armed forces ID card or a resident alien ID card. Only one form of ID is needed.

If either party is a Georgia resident, the license may be purchased in any county in Georgia. If neither party is a resident of Georgia, the marriage license must be obtained in the county in which the ceremony will be performed. Georgia marriage licenses can only be used for marriage ceremonies that are performed in Georgia.

If either party has been previously married and divorced, a copy of the final divorce decree must be provided for the courts inspection. Make certain that it is the **final** divorce decree. The final divorce decree must be dated and signed by a judge and filed with the appropriate court.

If either party has been married previously and the marriage was dissolved by death, please provide a certified death certificate.

Georgia law requires each applicant to designate the legal last name (surname) he or she will use after marriage. The applicant may choose his or her present last name, his or her spouse's last name, or a combination of the two.

Application Process

To minimize in-person contact and to speed up the process, complete the application online by clicking HERE or by copying and pasting this address into your browser: www.georgiaprobaterecords.com. If you need assistance with completing the application, please call 706-883-1690 to speak with a Probate Court Clerk.

Once you complete the online application come to the Probate Court to finalize the application process. We accept applications Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. until 4:15 p.m. Friends and family members must wait outside.

Our office is located on the 2nd floor of the Troup County Government Center located at 100 Ridley Avenue, LaGrange, GA.

Pending applications may be automatically purged by the system after a certain amount of time.