PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION IN ITS ENTIRETY **ONLINE APPLICATION AVAILABLE**

Weapons Carry License

<u>Fees</u>

NEW weapons carry license are:

\$31.00 cash, check, money order and debit or credit card (a 4.5% surcharge will apply)

AND

\$51.50 debit or credit card only

TOTAL \$82.50

Weapons carry licenses are good for 5 years. You can renew 90 days before expiration or 30 days after expiration.

RENEWAL weapons carry license are:

\$31.00 cash, check, money order and debit or credit card (a 4.5% surcharge will apply) \$ 1.00 if you would like a temporary permit until your new one is delivered

We accept applications Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. until 4:15 p.m.

Application Information and Requirements

You must be at least 21 years of age and a **Troup County resident** to apply. Residents of other counties must apply with the Probate Court in their home county.

You must provide official identification, such as a driver's license or state issued ID card, with your **current, correct address**, when you apply. If your Post Office box is listed on your license you must provide other proof of your address such as utility bill, vehicle registration, etc. to prove your Troup County address.

If there are questions about your residency, you will be required to offer further proof such as property tax records, deed, etc. **NOT ACCEPTED:** Bank Statements, credit card bills or anything that has your social security number on it.

Your picture will be taken for your license.

An FBI and GBI criminal background check will be conducted within 20 days.

The Probate Judge will then have 10 days to review your history to make sure that you are entitled to receive a license. (A link with a list of Federal and Georgia prohibitors is provided)

If you are not approved for a license, the Probate Judge will send you an Order detailing what steps you can take to address any problems.

These costs are nonrefundable, even if your application is denied.

Retired Law Enforcement who can show they served as law enforcement officers for 10 of the last 12 years prior to their retirement may receive their license at NO COST except for \$8.50 that must be paid for the fingerprint fee and the \$9.00 card printing fee. If renewing you will only pay the \$9.00 printing fee. All other documents and requirements must be met.

Citizenship Requirements

If you are a **naturalized citizen** we need to make a copy of your **naturalization certificate or your US Passport.**

<u>Armed Forces:</u> License cannot be issued to any person younger than $\underline{21}$ years of age \underline{unless} he or she:

Is at least <u>18</u> years of age; **AND** Provides proof that he or she <u>has completed basic training</u> in the armed forces of the United States; **AND** Provides proof that he or she <u>is actively serving</u> in the

Armed Forces" includes: US. Army, US. Navy, US. Marine Corp, US. Coast Guard, US. AirForce, US. National Guard, Georgia Army National Guard and Georgia Air National Guard

**If you are <u>not a US Citizen</u>, or not born in the US, you must provide: Proof of Name, address, date of birth, INS number, ARN number or I-94 number Photo ID, proof of lawful entry into the United States

Pending applications may be automatically purged by the system after a certain amount of time.

Fingerprinting

For new applications, you will be fingerprinted in our building after you leave our office and we have verified the information submitted online is correct and signed additional paperwork. For renewal applications, you will not have to be fingerprinted; however, you will need to verify the information submitted online and sign additional paperwork.

For Gun Laws and more information go to: www.handgunlaw.us or www.georgiapacking.org

Georgia reciprocates recognizing firearms license with the following states: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

Online Application Process

To minimize in-person contact and to speed up the process, complete the application online by clicking HERE or by copying and pasting this address into your browser: www.georgiaprobaterecords.com. If you need assistance with completing the application, please call 706-883-1690 to speak with a Probate Court Clerk.

Once you complete the online application you will need to come to the Probate Court to finalize the application process. Friends and family members must wait outside. Our office is located on the 2nd floor of the Troup County Government Center located at 100 Ridley Avenue, LaGrange, GA.