# Georgia Weapons Carry License Information Sheet Applications Accepted 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

# \*\*IF YOU HAVE EVER BEEN ARRESTED, PLEASE LOOK AT PROHIBITORS ON BACK OF THIS SHEET. MONEY WILL NOT BE REFUNDED IF YOU ARE DENIED\*\*

New License:

**Total \$82.50** 

\$31.00- License Fee Cash or Check Only

AND

\$51.50 - Fingerprint Fee

Debit Card/Credit Card

Payable to: Troup County Probate Court

<u>Renewal:</u>

**Total \$31.00** 

Must renew within 30 days of expiration date.

\$31.00-License Fee

Cash or Check Only

Payable to: Troup County Probate Court

#### Requirements:

\*\*Must be 21 years of Age

\*\*Must have valid Troup County Drivers License with your current, correct address or State issued ID

\*\*You must be a resident of Troup County

\*\*If you are not a US Citizen, or not born in the US, you must provide:

Proof of Name, address, date of birth, INS number, ARN number or I-94 number Photo ID, documentation of your lawful. Presence in the US and proof of residency in the State of GA for at least 90 days

\*\*\*\*\*\*License cannot be issued to any person younger than <u>21</u> years of age *unless* he or she:

\*Is at least 18 years of age; AND

\*Provides proof that he or she <u>has completed basic training</u> in the armed forces of the United States: **AND** 

\*Provides proof that he or she <u>is actively serving</u> in the armed forces of the United States <u>or</u> has been <u>honorably discharged</u> from such service

## Criminal background check will be made by GBI, FBI and Local Authorities

For Gun Laws and more information go to:

www.handgunlaw.us www.georgiapacking.org

Georgia reciprocates recognizing firearms license with the following states:

Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

If lost or stolen, you MUST report to the local police within the first 48 hours! Police report MUST be submitted to re-issue your license.

### Brief Description of Federal and Georgia Prohibitors

NOTE: The following is a brief description of the federal and state prohibitors, which require that the Probate Court not issue a weapons carry license to anyone meeting the criteria for a prohibitor. This is a brief description only; for the full context of the federal and/or state law, please refer to the actual, official statutes and any regulations issued thereunder. If you have any questions whether any of the following prohibitors applies to your charges, situation or circumstances, please consult an attorney.

#### FEDERAL PROHIBITORS (Title 18, United States Code, Section 922(g)(1) through (9) and (n)

#### The federal prohibitions apply to any person who:

- (g)(1) has been convicted of a crime punishable by imprisonment exceeding one year (or a misdemeanor crime punishable by imprisonment over two years) \*\*whose civil rights have not been restored
- (g)(2) who is a fugitive from justice
- (g)(3) who is an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance
- (g)(4) who has been adjudicated as mental defective or involuntarily committed to a mental institution.
- (g)(5) who is an alien who is illegally or unlawfully in the United States or who has been admitted to the United States under a nonimmigrant visa
- (g)(6) who has been dishonorably discharged for the U.S. Armed Forces
- (g)(7) who has renounced U.S. Citizenship
- (g)(8) who is subject to a current restraining order involving an intimate partner or the child of an intimate partner
- (g)(9) who has been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence
- (n) who is under indictment/information for a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year

#### GEORGIA PROHIBITORS (O.C.G.A.§ 16-11-12-)

#### The Georgia prohibitions apply to any person who:

- (b)(2)(A) is under 21 years of age unless at least 18 <u>and</u> completed basic training in armed forces of the US and actively serving or honorably discharged.
- (b)(2)(B) is convicted of a felony who has not been pardoned.
- (b)(2)(C) has proceedings pending against them for a felony.
- (b)(2)(D) are fugitives from justice
- (b)(2)(E) is prohibited from possessing or shipping a firearm in interstate commerce pursuant to subsections (g) and (n) of 18 U.S.C. §922 (see above)
- (b)(2)(F) is convicted of an offense arising out of the unlawful manufacture or distribution of a controlled substance or other dangerous drug. First offender w/o adjudication of guilt successfully completed and discharged is eligible if no other license exception applies.
- (b)(2)(G) has had their weapons carry license revoked within 3 years of the application date.
- (b)(2)(H) has been convicted of i) carrying a weapon without a weapons carry license, or ii) carrying a weapon or long gun in an unauthorized location <u>and</u> not been free of all restraint or supervision in connection therewith <u>and</u> free of any other conviction for at least five years immediately preceding the date of the application.
- (b)(2)(I) has been convicted of any misdemeanor involving use or possession of a controlled substance <u>and</u> not been free of all restraint or supervision in connection therewith or free of a second misdemeanor drug conviction for at least 5 years immediately preceding the date of application. First offender w/o adjudication of guilt successfully completed <u>and</u> discharged is eligible if no other license exception applies.
- (b)(2)(J) has been hospitalized as an inpatient in a mental hospital or alcohol or drug treatment facility within five years prior to the application.
- (b)(2)(K) has been adjudicated mentally incompetent to stand trial unless relieved by court ordering incapacity
- (b)(2)(L) has been adjudicated not guilty by reason of insanity unless relieved by court ordering incapacity.

# **Application for Weapons Carry License**

# NO REFUNDS GIVEN UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES

Applicant's Name:	
Last Fi	irst Middle
Please list Maiden name, Aliase Names previously used:	
Date of Birth:/	Sex: Race:
	Hair: Height:
INS Alien #:	Eyes: Weight:
Place of Birth: City St	tate Country
	Country
Current Street Address:	County:
City:	Zip:
Home Phone:	Other:
Mailing Address if PO box:	
City:	Zip:
Email:	