About Us

With 446 square miles of beautiful water and emerging landscape, Troup County houses three municipalities: LaGrange (County seat), West Point, and Hogansville. With a population of almost 70,000, Troup County is home to diverse industries, including automotive, textile, and chemical. It supports three institutions of higher education, including LaGrange College, Point University, and West Georgia Technical College. Located on the Chattahoochee River, the county offers access to the amenities of West Point Lake, which is predominately in Troup County.

Troup County is a division of the State of Georgia. Our government operates under an elected five member Board of Commissioners with four districts and one at large, and it has an appointed County Manager. Located in West Georgia, Troup County's primary functions are general administration, judicial, public safety, transportation and health and welfare. On our website, you will find the most relevant and up-to-date information about our departments and courts, online services and assistance, resident programs and support, the latest news, including Public Notices and S.P.L.O.S.T. information, and innovative ways to experience the culture of Troup County.

Troup County is a member of the ACCG (Association County Commissioners of Georgia) and NACo (National Association of Counties).